Welcome 2013!

ClickHandler.ashx

While I can’t say that 2012 was a bad year, it was filled with its share of ups and downs. My sudden diaphragm surgery, moving, letting Bear go, graduating school, getting licensed and job with the CT Sun – it’s all part of the good and bad.  But, instead of focusing on the past year I want to put out there my goals (I won’t say resolutions because that just destines me to failure which is not acceptable!) for 2013.  Is it going to be hard?  Hell yeah. Is it going to suck at times? Won’t lie, probably most of the time. Will it be worth it? I sure as hell hope so! I’m not getting any younger so this every year a new chance thing ends this year. I will make the changes even if I don’t feel up to the challenge so that next New Year’s Eve, I will be able to set a goal other than “getting in shape.” Starting with the easier of the goals…

Professional

  • Work with the CT Sun again this season, coming up with a schedule to work on a weekly basis
  • Get my letter of “deficiency” so that I can begin taking classes here in NY towards my NY LMT license
  • Look into PFT classes
  • Take my Ethics, possibly Kinesio-Taping and PNF continuing ed classes

Personal

  • Using FlyLady, as a guideline if anything, to get our house cleaned up and organized so that when we move we have less crap to sort through
  • Blog of my journey in professional, personal and health goals daily – even if it’s just a line or a scream
  • Assist my kids in getting more active during the day – happy to say this is already coming to fruition – ordered 2 dvds for them to exercise to at night and the snow is helping tremendously in this capacity as well

Health and Fitness

These goals, by far, are going to be the most trying of my patience, sanity and my need for instant gratification but also will be the biggest personal payoff.  So, with that said…these goals are for the next 90 days:

  • Following P90X schedule each day (major suckage to start!!!!)
  • Core work
  • Strength training
  • Stability/Mobility training (especially for my ankles and feet)
  • Run at least 3 times per week

As I stated before, this is going to be the biggest hurdle for me to get past. Here it is January 1 and I was so close to convincing myself starting tomorrow would be alright. Are you kidding me???? Course I can talk myself out of anything and that’s what I need to change. No more excuses. No more rationalizations. If the DVD is too hard then I just have to scale it back to something I can do and still do it. I can feel my gut churning on this whole topic.

Races for 2013

I have a big goal race in mind for October 2013 but I have looked into other races to do during the year. Why? Cuz they’re fun.  At least 3 of them aren’t even timed but it’s being there that’s fun. I’ll update these as I register for them and dates get confirmed.

  1. Sandy Hook 5k 3/23 – Hartford
  2. Color Me Rad 5k (untimed) 4/27 – Hartford
  3. Red Dress Run 5k 7/6 – Hartford (absolute since this is my anniversary run)
  4. Run for Your Lives 7/2013 – Boston (want to do this one as a zombie)
  5. Electric Run 5k (untimed) – NYC (July) or Boston (unknown)
  6. Color Me Rad 5k (untimed) 9/21 – Albany (doing this one with all my kids)
  7. Rugged Maniac 9/28-9/29 Southwick, MA or 6/29 NYC
  8. Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon 13.1 10/13 – Schenectady

There might be more added as the year progresses but the one I am gearing up for is the Half Marathon. I have a running plan to start June/July so all the things I’m doing now will play into that running plan.

The important thing is to strive towards a goal which is not immediately visible.  That goal is not the concern of the mind, but of the spirit.  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Until next time…

~ by jniemi99 on January 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
