Pivitol Weekend

In every weight loss journey, you reach a turning point where all your hard work begins to really pay off.  However, I haven’t really been working hard, or at least I didn’t think I was working hard.  I was wrong.  Instead of tracking my points last weekend I went on feeling; ate when I felt and stopped when I felt satisfied.  What ended up happening?  2.4 pounds lost.  Are you kidding me????  I really, truly thought I was going to gain yet again this week.

I set a goal of finishing the Blue Back Mitten Race in under 40 minutes.  The first mile I was at 12:14 minutes; the second 24:20.  Seriously????  I ended up finishing in 38:06.  I have floored myself by finishing well under my 40 minute goal.  I don’t think I’ve truly soaked up my accomplishment just yet.  But what has really made me understand the gravity of this situation is the outpouring of support from my family and friends.  To post something like that on Facebook and to have people even just ‘like’ the post really means the world to me.  I cannot believe how a simple act like that can keep me spurred on to continue this winning streak of mine.

Sarah, me & Charlene Blue Back Mitten Race 2011

This week I conclude my 4th term in Massage School.  The semester has just flown by and I cannot believe I am almost at the end of my schooling.  Next year I will be one of the “Seniors” on campus but last year at this time I was stressing about my MT1 final!

I am going to continue this streak by making good food choices, upping my exercise and, once finals are done, take some time for just me to read or pare down some stuff in the house before it goes on the market.

While the number on the scale isn’t going down as quickly as I hope, something is changing and people are seeing it.  In fact, on Saturday when I went to a cadaver lab for MT3, there was a camera on us and showing us on large screens.  I was able to actually look at myself from the back.  I could actually tell I wasn’t as “wide” as I thought I looked from the back.  I am actually noticing changes in myself.  So, numbers be damned!

Charlene, Sarah & I Blue Back Mitten Race 2010 (BIG difference for me!!!)

So I will end this post with a quote I found on a magnet in Barnes & Noble yesterday…

Live with intention.
Walk to the edge.
Listen hard.
Practice wellness.
Play with abandon.
Laugh.
Choose with no regret.
Continue to learn.
Appreciate your friends.
Do what you love.
Live as if this is all there is.
~Mary Anne Radmacher

~ by jniemi99 on December 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
