Manchester Road Race

Don’t think about it, just do it says Charlene to me about running on Thanksgiving.  4.748 miles with a 2 mile hill in the very beginning…sure!  Why not?  I’m still trying to process that I actually did it, and finished close to the time I was hoping to get.  1:06 to run with 15,000 other people almost 5 miles.  What a beautiful day; what a wonderful experience.  To run and have all those people cheering everyone on, radios blasting or bands playing along the way.  Costumes galor from a man dressed as a playboy bunny to penguins to teenage mutant ninja turtles to Gumby.  I ran with Julia Chase-Brand, the woman who paved the way for the rest of us women to race.  Fifty years ago, when she began racing, it was frowned upon, her times weren’t counted and was attempted to be removed from the course.  Look at how much has changed!

But, to make things even more interesting, not only did I run that race but I plan on running the Blue Back Mitten Run again this year.  I really hope that it’s not as cold as it was last year but I think I should have a better time for sure.  I was not in a good place last year mentally, physically, emotionally; this year is different.  I am determined to finish strong and take my training to the next level. 

~ by jniemi99 on November 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
