Did *I* just do that????

I am always more than willing to be Charlene’s tester for different workouts.  I can spend time chatting with her and getting in a workout at the same time.  Well, this time, we were both learning…plyometrics….or jumping…yeah…me?  Jump up onto anything?  No thank you.  But, I didn’t want to let her, or myself, down by not even trying it.  Ya know what? 

I DID IT!!!!

The first few times were on her step which was wider than mine (mine is The Firm square step, hers is the “typical” step aerobics step) but when we got to the sumo squat to jump, I automatically went to my step and just did it.  She stopped, looked at me and said, “what did you just do?” It didn’t register that I just jumped up there.  Then it sank it…I just did that without thinking…holy crap I just did that without thinking!  So, now that I’m thinking about it, can I do it again?  You betcha!  I was a jumping mad woman today.  I’m still somewhat in awe of my accomplishment.

When did I realize I was afraid to jump with both feet?  When I started attending John’s bootcamp and he wanted us to jump either over a huge tire (jump in the middle and then out again) or over small hurdles.  I flat out refused.  Charlene worked with me, and others, during our Sunday runs jumping over cables or onto fallen logs.  They didn’t give up on me and ultimately that faith in me paid off.  Somehow I found the strength within myself to say, “Yes, you can do it,” and did it.

So, I end this long overdue blog with one of my favorite quotes….it matches my journey to jumping with both feet perfectly.

Nobody trips over mountains.  It is the small pebble that causes you to stumble.  Pass all the pebbles in your path and you will find you have crossed the mountain.  ~Author Unknown
~ by jniemi99 on October 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
