Run-niversary

It’s been over a month since I last posted and here I am on the eve of The Red Dress Run, the first race I ever ran.  I was thinking about how I felt about myself last year compared to this year.  Last year, I was very unsure, as well as injured when I ran the race.  The majority of it was walked with an emotional breakdown once I saw all my friends waiting for me to cheer me across the finish line.  This year, I am better prepared, better trained and I think in a much better frame of mind to tackle this race.  Last year my time was 48 minutes and some change.  This year I hope to get under 43 minutes which is less than the O’Hartford race I ran in March.  I want to run this race and not merely walk it.  I want to run with my head held high rather than staring down at the pavement.  I know I can do it.

Red Dress Run 2010

Over the past few weeks, I’ve made some strides in my training.  I actually ran 3 miles without stopping at the track one day.  I still remember thinking, oh I’ll run 2 laps then walk a lap which turned into 3/1 laps which turned into I only have 4 more laps to go to reach 3 miles.  I was going to walk a lap because I was tiring but as soon as I started walking, I started running again.  I knew in my gut that if I walked any bit of it, I would never start running again.  I wanted to show myself that I could run 3 miles without stopping.

Since the half-marathon I was planning on running is on the same day as Erik’s retirement, I have decided to postpone my half-marathon until the Spring of 2012.  Instead, I am hoping to run a 10k at the end of August to prepare myself for the next level of running.

So, what happens now?  I roll, ice and rest my legs until tomorrow morning.  I run with an amazing group of ladies and prove to myself I can do it once again.  Then I really need to step up my training.  I need to include the diet aspect of the training and not just the exercise.  Time to kick this into high gear.

All I have to say is…

BRING IT!

~ by jniemi99 on July 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
