Overcoming bumps in the road…figuratively speaking…

I finished the Red Dress Run in 42:15 with a 13:43 pace time.  I shaved a minute off my last 5k time (the O’Hartford) and 6:15 from the Red Dress Run last year.  I’m feeling pretty good about those numbers.  However, I really need to work on overcoming the small bumps in the road when it comes to running.  Lately my bladder hasn’t been cooperating with me and today it presented a deterrent for me to continue running.  I ran 2 miles before stopping to take a short break which wound up being close to a full mile break.  If it weren’t for the pressure from my bladder I would have continued on running.  Instead, I took the time to berate myself and beat myself up for drinking the half cup of water I got at the one water station or maybe I should have used the portalets more than just before the race.  Whatever the reason, I found it to beat myself up over giving up.  But, when I made the final turn to the last half-mile, that’s when I decided I wasn’t going to let this issue ruin my time completely.  The volunteer said, about a half-mile left to go, in the shade even, you can do it! (He wasn’t talking directly to me but in general).  That’s all I needed to hear.  And as I got closer, I heard Pump It by the Black Eyed Peas and that just made me pace faster.  Then I saw Charlene and Karen and wanted to collapse but I didn’t.  Instead I pushed to the finish where Lexie and Laura were waiting.  I really hated myself for allowing an issue like that take over me.  I really didn’t want to see my time but Lexie convinced me to check it anyway.  Happily surprised to see the numbers I did; I realized I was making a mountain out of a mole-hill.

I have to say this year was pretty darn amazing because I got to run a race with Lexie as well as a ton of other fabulous ladies…Charlene, Laura, Tammy, Tiffany, and Alyssa with Karen on the sidelines taking photos and cheering us all on…

So what did I take away from this race?  First, I need to contact my doctor about my issue and see what can be done about it.  But, I really need to work on cutting myself slack, and more positive self-talk when something comes up so I don’t let myself down.

Don’t get me wrong, I am very happy I ran 2 full miles without stopping and getting the time that I did.  I just need to stop dwelling on the negative when it rears it’s ugly head and focus on the bigger goal…the FINISH LINE.

~ by jniemi99 on July 9, 2011.

One Response to “Overcoming bumps in the road…figuratively speaking…”

  1. That's it Jen. Don't let anything get the best of you.Focus on solving the problem;that is where your mental fuel will be best used. Keep moving.We had a memorable day.

Leave a Reply

 
