Changing for the better

May 17, 2010

It’s hard to look at yourself and find the changes that are occurring.  Just like when people say how tall your kids have gotten, you are with them all the time, or a significant part of the time, and don’t notice it as well as others do.  It’s taken me a lot of time to accept and acknowledge that my body is changing.  I am making positive changes in my life and it’s starting to show.  Since I’m not used to pointing out the positives in myself, I am almost forcing myself to find something good about myself.  I can’t really look at pictures of myself because all I see is flab but it’s slowly changing.  While it might not be obvious on the outside, I’m feeling it on the inside.

Today, I worked out with Charlene doing my resistance training.  Each week, the routine varies, even just slightly, to keep me engaged yet challenged at the same time.  Well, this week was ramped up a bit and I think I was up for the challenge.  I actually surprised myself with how my stamina has improved.  Doesn’t mean I kicked ass for all the exercises but I put my all into every single one of them.  Even when I had to stop for fear my legs would give out, I kept going until I couldn’t anymore.  A year ago I would have made up excuse after excuse of why I couldn’t finish.  Now there is no reason.  I want to do what I’m doing.  I want to succeed.  I want to accomplish what I have set out for myself to do.  And that’s what I’m doing.  Sure, I may have off days but then again who doesn’t?  What matters is to not allow that to ruin the entire week which would turn into a month and so on.

May 14, 2011

My legs are now more toned, my core is rather strong and while I do have some things to work on, I am moving forward and MAKING PROGRESS!

Can I attribute all this to the exercise?  I have to say no.  Because I could have easily done this last year or anytime but I wasn’t ready for it.  What changed?  My schooling.  Learning more about myself and what makes me happy inside.  Learning how to deal with difficult situations with grace and finesse.  Not allowing people to walk all over me.  Beginning to love me and be patient with me.  It was one of the main reasons I started massage therapy and it’s happened.  That change in myself is happening and I couldn’t be more thrilled.  Not changing who I am but rather allowing myself to be me and be happy.  To accept that not everyone will like who I am but that’s there loss, not mine.

~ by jniemi99 on June 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
