Looking in the mirror

So, I woke with major DOMS this morning from bootcamp last night.  Typical but when it came to exercising this morning, it took me a bit to get the momentum going.  After my 30 minutes of sweating, I proceeded upstairs to wash the stink off me.  I looked at myself in the mirror….and didn’t like what I saw.  Why is it that I’m not seeing any changes?  Clothes aren’t getting looser, chins aren’t disappearing, what gives?  Yeah, it’s been a whopping 1 full week since starting this training and I’m already expecting to be a size 10.  Unrealistic?  Absolutely.  But, this is typical for me since I need that immediate gratification of my hard work.

So, what is getting me to keep going and not giving up?  Couple of things are helping me over this mental hurdle of mine.  First, Erik is retiring in October 2011.  I *will* look good for his retirement.  Second, my trainer is working hard to make a plan for me that is workable, challenging yet not discouraging for me, why would I not give the same effort that she’s giving?  Finally, I will turn a corner in all this at some point and I will notice physical changes.  Erik will notice changes; everyone will notice changes and then I will realize all my hard work will have not gone to waste.

Until that day though, I have to keep plugging along, telling myself that what I am doing IS worth it and that changes will show soon.

~ by jniemi99 on May 11, 2011.

One Response to “Looking in the mirror”

  1. Jen; I'm so glad you're posting on this. Firstly, I just want to let you know; I looked at your profile pic on dailymile today, and I see a difference between that shot and what you look like right now. Second; if you want to challenge some of your self-defeating thoughts, let me know and I can give you some ideas, some "mental exercises" if you will. You rock sister!!!

Leave a Reply

 
