A turning point for me

So I went running with Charlene this morning at Mansfield Hollow.  It was our normal route we take but something within me changed.  It finally dawned on me that it is not necessary for me to take such long strides to try to keep up with her, or anyone else for that matter.  So I shortened my stride and voila! I was able to run longer. I actually ran 28 minutes with very short breaks in between.  My heart rate used to max out at different points during the run and now it’s staying at a level 93-95%.

I was presented with a goal today…I needed to run at a comfortable pace so that I wouldn’t stop and could continue until we got back into Mansfield Hollow.  Guess what?

I DID IT!!!

Granted, it was a slow pace but it was consistent.  As I was running I was trying to come up with all sorts of reasons to stop running.  Did my calves hurt?  Nope. Well, my quads must be hurting…hmmm…nope.  Feet were a little sore but that’s from the sneaker.  I went through every ache I could think up and came up with no reason to stop.  So I didn’t.  Did I want to puke?  Yes, yes I did.  But I refused, REFUSED to let myself give up.

So as I approach the end of this first “training” week this is the accomplishments I have made…Reduced my running heart rate from 100% to 93-95%….ran more and walked less…shortened my stride to help maintain a comfortable pace…oh, and I lost 4 pounds so far.  Pretty damn good if you ask me!

~ by jniemi99 on May 7, 2011.

One Response to “A turning point for me”

  1. yay!!!! It's all about small manageable goals and accomplishments along the way!!! I often trick myself when running; if I start out feeling crappy, I say "okay, I can quit after 3 minutes". And then, at 3 minutes, I keep saying "ok, one more". If I'm on the dreadmill, I'll chance up the speed or incline a bit every 30 sec's or minute to keep myself from getting bored

Leave a Reply

 
