Beginning my journey…

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. ~Lao Tzu

I will journal here if for no other reason than to show myself I can do this.  My ups and downs, triumphs and tribulations, joys and sorrows.  That way once I do accomplish my goal I can look back and better understand how I was feeling along the way.
My ultimate goal is to run the ING Marathon in Hartford October 2012.  Huge undertaking on my part.  Not only do I need to become regimented with my running, but I will be losing quite a bit of weight as well to reduce the stress on my knees.  I know it won’t be easy, not at all.  In fact I will predict I will try to give up at least 20 times or more during this entire process.
In addition to training, eating properly, etc., I will continue to care for my 4 kids, house, husband, animals, and go to school part time.  I am very lucky to have a wonderful group of friends who are supporting me in this endeavor and want me to succeed.  I don’t think I could do this without them.  Erik is very supportive as well and he has already given me the answer I needed to hear when asked if he’ll be there cheering me on…”well, duh!” Have I mentioned how awesome and amazing he is?!?!?!?!
Training starts Sunday after church.  I am working on getting my plan into a spreadsheet so I can look at it better.  Then I will meet with Charlene to tweak it a bit.  I have changes to make in my running so it’s going to be a constant work in progress.
Check back later for the next installment!
Namaste
~ by jniemi99 on April 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
